Peaceofficerjobs.com Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
Peaceofficerjobs.com Forums

Share | 

scared my chances will be slim to none

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
anonymou

scared my chances will be slim to none _
PostSubject: scared my chances will be slim to none   scared my chances will be slim to none EmptyWed Jun 10, 2009 7:20 pm

I am striving to be a homicide detective. I have my associates degree and want to pursue my bachelors in criminal justice. I have one problem though. I was addicted to roxys after i was in a car accident and was prescribed them through my dr. i ended up getting addicted to them and couldn't get off them for about 3 years. i've been clean now for two years. I also smoked alot of marijuana. when i say alot i mean i had been smoking for at least 10 years since i was 15. i'm 28 now and i want to get my life together and become a homicide dectective. i know i'm smart enough and capable but i'm afraid my past would come out to haunt me if i tried to apply. what should i do? am i wasting my time pining for this dream? that's all i talk about and i would be so heartbroken if i couldn't do it.
Back to top Go down
Jenn

PostSubject: Re: scared my chances will be slim to none   scared my chances will be slim to none EmptyThu Jun 11, 2009 12:12 pm

Your chances would probably be slim to none anytime soon. Stay clean and finish your degree. Due your past use of drugs, you would be disqualified by some departments, but in time, a number of years, you could still get hired by some departments. Becoming a homicide detective is usually not easy. You usually have to be a good police officer, and there is often much competition.
Back to top Go down
anonymou

PostSubject: Re: scared my chances will be slim to none   scared my chances will be slim to none EmptyThu Jun 11, 2009 11:06 pm