Peaceofficerjobs.com Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
Peaceofficerjobs.com Forums

Share | 

Becoming a Police Officer

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
emilystarr373

Becoming a Police Officer _
PostSubject: Becoming a Police Officer   Becoming a Police Officer EmptyTue Jul 28, 2009 1:03 am

Sorry this is so long I'm trying to get it all out there! I have some questions on becoming a police officer and about my past.

My Personal Details: I am female, 21 years old, just over 5'6" tall, 130 pounds, I wear glasses but my eyesight isn't horrible. I am and always have been athletic. I have a high school diploma, I just received my Associate in Arts last semester. I'm married, we bought a house in December, I have good credit. I have a good work history.

My Questions:

1. What should I do first other than finish up my 4 year degree? Do I contact the different departments in my area?

2. I have never used drugs, I did do silly things when I was younger like drink under age (never caught), downloaded music (never caught), I did steal a few times when I was young nothing over $50.00 (never caught and don't do any more!) I have 2 speeding tickets, one of them I took a class on and passed it was 74 in a 55 it's been a couple years since I got them. Will any of this hurt me?

3. I volunteered at my local fire department for a little over a year but we moved so I had to stop. Should I mention this and will it help me?

4. Do I need to get accepted by a PD to go to the NC Basic Law Enforcement Training Program or can I apply without being in a department?

5. Can you give me kind of easy breakdown on the steps to becoming a police officer. Ex: Degree, Apply to PD, do background test, pass physical exam..? Thank you!!
Back to top Go down
Sarge