Peaceofficerjobs.com Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
Peaceofficerjobs.com Forums

Share | 

Aspects of a Typical Police Day

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
bbhoang

bbhoang

Aspects of a Typical Police Day _
PostSubject: Aspects of a Typical Police Day   Aspects of a Typical Police Day EmptySun Dec 06, 2009 5:55 am

Hi. I'm a third year Criminology undergraduate student at University of California Irvine (UCI). I notice that most of the posts here on this forum deals with eligibility for police recruitment; however, I have not seen a lot questions regarding police work itself. I live in the Orange County area of Caifornia, and the crime rate here is fairly high, so as a police patrolman, what kind of things should I expect while being on the beat? And how would my work be different if I were to specialize in other units like gang unit or narcotics, for example? Lastly, if by some luck I move up the hierarchal ladder in the police department and become a sergeant, what new duties would I have to carry out and would they be more related to adminstrative work?

Thanks in advance!
Back to top Go down
Sarge

PostSubject: Re: Aspects of a Typical Police Day   Aspects of a Typical Police Day EmptyTue Dec 08, 2009 1:28 pm