Peaceofficerjobs.com Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
Peaceofficerjobs.com Forums

Share | 

South African application

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Random

South African application _
PostSubject: South African application   South African application EmptyWed Jan 27, 2010 10:05 am

Hello,

I am a 27 year old male from South Africa. I also hold a Greek passport, so that would make me a European Union citizen.

I have a four year degree and 3 years working experience in IT Audit work. A dream of mine has always been to be a police officer but being a South African national, this is just not possible. As you all know, South Africa, specifically Johannesburg where I live is one of the most dangerous cities in the world. Police suicides are increasing and it is a thankless underpaying job (you start off on $300 a month).

Now my question is this, I know I would need to be a US citizen to have any chance at succeeding in my application but how do I become a citizen? Is there no way to join a force and work towards citizenship or a green card?

Any information would be helpful.
Back to top Go down
TYoung

PostSubject: Re: South African application   South African application EmptySun Jan 31, 2010 5:24 pm

The LAPD will hire non-citizens if they are permanent residents and they have applied to become citizens. You could always marry an American citizen Laughing
Back to top Go down
Romey

PostSubject: Re: South African application   South African application EmptyMon Feb 01, 2010 3:56 pm

Here's a couple possibilities to consider from the US Citizenship and Immigration Services website.