Peaceofficerjobs.com Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
Peaceofficerjobs.com Forums

Share | 

Some questions from a disenchanted social psychology student

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
HeatherM

Some questions from a disenchanted social psychology student _
PostSubject: Some questions from a disenchanted social psychology student   Some questions from a disenchanted social psychology student EmptySat Jan 30, 2010 12:48 am

Hi,

I was very excited to find this forum! Thanks so much to those who answer posts!

I am currently a social psychology PhD student. However, over the last few years I have realized academia (and my previous goal to teach and research at a university) are not satisfying my strong desire to help people. I now hope to pursue a law enforcement career. Because I am naturally drawn toward investigation of social phenomena, I think detective work would be a great option. I have very little knowledge of how things work outside the university and would greatly appreciate some help about this next step.

Here are a couple things:
I will have a Masters in social psychology by June
I have no criminal record (one speeding ticket)
I am currently on antidepressants (depression is stable/treated)
I do have a lot of debt because I have been in school so long. But I think my credit is ok. (I have heard that debt can be a negative?)

My fiance lives in Atlanta, GA so I am hoping to apply to the department there. It looks as though they have their own police academy.

Ok, so here are my questions:

1.) What obstacles should I expect during the application process? How long does the process take? When should I apply if I won't receive my degree until June (should I apply before or after graduation)?