Peaceofficerjobs.com Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
Peaceofficerjobs.com Forums

Share | 

Do I have a shot at being a police officer?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
max

Do I have a shot at being a police officer? _
PostSubject: Do I have a shot at being a police officer?   Do I have a shot at being a police officer? EmptyWed Oct 20, 2010 5:57 pm

This is part of my life story. Most of this is what worries me that I will not be able to get hired onto a police department in the future.

Back in '05, the year I graduated, I did two things that I regret to this day. I joined the military, and I got married.

After my training at Ft. Jackson and Lee, I came home and attended a few months of my reserve drill training. Due to some marital and financial issues at the time, I missed a lot of my drills and eventually never went back. I got divorced in '07 and moved back home with my folks where I began to work at wal mart. I fell into a harsh crowd while I was working there and after I made supervisor I began smoking pot. In '08 I received my discharge papers and they stated that I had a general discharge under honorable conditions. In late summer of '09 I got fired from wal mart because I didn't have a "spotter" while I was operating a forklift. I checked with OSHA guidelines and they state that you don't need to have a spotter when operating a forklift. I let the people at job and family services know this and they allowed me to collect on unemployment.

At that point I quit smoking and enrolled in college, I started going back to church and really began to turn my life around. I was dating a girl who eventually converted to catholic so we could get married in the church we attend and just recently we got married!