Peaceofficerjobs.com Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
Peaceofficerjobs.com Forums

Share | 

Criminal Justice Degree or Not?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Marlene

Criminal Justice Degree or Not? _
PostSubject: Criminal Justice Degree or Not?   Criminal Justice Degree or Not? EmptyTue May 17, 2011 6:19 pm

My parents want me to go to college. I know it is a good idea and I really should go. The problem is that I'm not really good at math and science and I'm not really interested in anything other than Criminal Justice. I've read that many people think Criminal Justice degrees aren't really good. Would it be a total waste of time and money to get one even though there's no other major at my community college I want? Please help!!!!
Back to top Go down
J18

PostSubject: Re: Criminal Justice Degree or Not?   Criminal Justice Degree or Not? EmptyWed May 18, 2011 10:05 am

Criminal Justice degress are a waste of time. They are looked upon by many as an "easy" degree. Save your money or pick a different degree! Criminal justice degrees are a dime a dozen and aren't worth much.
Back to top Go down
hockey99

PostSubject: Re: Criminal Justice Degree or Not?   Criminal Justice Degree or Not? EmptyWed May 18, 2011 12:46 pm

I agree with the above post. Criminal Justice degrees are a cakewalk.
Other than the fact too, if you apply for police work with a different
degree, then you will be more marketable since this will set you apart
from applicants with CJ degree. Remember that police departments
want diversity.
Finally, the last reason why you should go for a different degree is
because in the case that you don't get hired as a PO, you can still
work in a different industry.
There is just so much you can do with CJ degree -- police officer,
security guard, probation officer, etc., but that's about it.