Peaceofficerjobs.com Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
Peaceofficerjobs.com Forums

Share | 

Would It Be A Waste of My Education?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Cincy85

Would It Be A Waste of My Education? _
PostSubject: Would It Be A Waste of My Education?   Would It Be A Waste of My Education? EmptyTue Oct 09, 2012 11:05 pm

Before I ask my question I wanted to provide a little background on myself. I earned my undergraduate degree in finance and banking and after working for a year in the financial services industry I decided a career in finance was not for me. I recently returned to school and earned my masters in information systems because I've always had a passion for technology. I'm about sixth months into my current job and am starting to have doubts about this career path as well. It's not that I hate what I'm doing but I'm seriously wondering if I'm just not the type of person that belongs behind a desk for 8-10 hours a day.

My grandpa was a sheriff and I've always been interested in law enforcement but have never really considered it seriously as a career. However, one day I was sitting at work and I could not get the thought out of my mind and have been wondering if I should try to pursue this as a career. I've also participated in athletics my entire life and was a collegiate athlete.

My question is, if I did decide to pursue a career in law enforcement, would earning my master's information systems be all for nothing? Would I be able to leverage both my undergraduate and graduate degree to my advantage or would they not matter since they're not relevant to law enforcement? Any comments or insights would be appreciated! Thanks!
Back to top Go down
MAC10

PostSubject: Re: Would It Be A Waste of My Education?   Would It Be A Waste of My Education? EmptyWed Oct 10, 2012 9:07 pm