Peaceofficerjobs.com Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
Peaceofficerjobs.com Forums

Share | 

College Major Relevance

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
bbhoang

bbhoang

College Major Relevance _
PostSubject: College Major Relevance   College Major Relevance EmptyWed Dec 31, 2008 9:02 pm

Hi, I'm a student of criminology law and society major at University of California, Irvine and am pursuing a Bachelors. From what I have heard, my major is very theoretical and philosophy based; however, some of its aspects do pertain to criminal justice. Does this make my major in the category of "related fields" when I send in my application to my desired police department?

In addition to my pursuit of an academic degree, I also volunteer at the hospital and will be trying the Police Explorer program as well. Will those be supplemental to my applicaion? In other words, does it make me "stand out" from other applicants?

To my understanding of the application process, the recruiting officers are very selective when they do background checks, and I don't want to miss out on any opportunity to be perceived fit for the job. However, I do not plan to join the military and I dont have a very extensive job history. What can I do to boost my chances?

Thanks.
Back to top Go down
Lt

PostSubject: Re: College Major Relevance   College Major Relevance EmptyWed Dec 31, 2008 10:57 pm