Peaceofficerjobs.com Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
Peaceofficerjobs.com Forums

Share | 

Moving from the UK to become a Police Officer in the United States

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
sidbrooks

Moving from the UK to become a Police Officer in the United States _
PostSubject: Moving from the UK to become a Police Officer in the United States   Moving from the UK to become a Police Officer in the United States EmptyThu Jan 08, 2009 1:00 pm

Hello, I am 20 years of age and born and bred in Northern England. I am currently studying Police and Criminal Investigation at University which would give me an honours degree and aspire to move to the United States to become a Police Officer. I have done a bit of research and realise that I would obviously need to become a permanent resident etc.

I was just wondering if anyone had any information which would be of use. Would I need to take part in a course in an american college also?

Look forward to hearing any responses, much appreciated
Back to top Go down
Sarge

PostSubject: Re: Moving from the UK to become a Police Officer in the United States   Moving from the UK to become a Police Officer in the United States EmptyThu Jan 08, 2009 6:50 pm

You wouldn't have to attend college in America. Although it is always better to have college, some police departments don't require applicants to have any college.
Back to top Go down
sidbrooks

PostSubject: Re: Moving from the UK to become a Police Officer in the United States   Moving from the UK to become a Police Officer in the United States EmptyThu Jan 08, 2009 7:27 pm

to join NYPD would it be more advised to move over there first and then apply? I just feel it's a bit risky moving over there without actually having a job. Especially with all the visa work.